Mr. Darcy to the rescue

Mr_ Darcy to the Rescue3.5 stars

I had recently written that I would really like to read a book where Mr. Darcy knew of Mr. Collins proposal. I always thought it would be interesting to read about his reaction to this news. But in my mind I always thought about Mr. Darcy discovering Collins had proposed, rushing to Longbourn to try ascertain the situation and discovering that Elizabeth had refused Mr. Collins.

Visctoria Kincaid took this to a whole different level! What if Elizabeth was about to refuse Mr. Collins when she discovered her father was very ill and could die in the next months? What if this new information made her accept Mr. Collins to secure stability to her family? And what if Mr. Darcy discovered she was engaged to Mr. Collins after the fact?

This premise was even better than what I had imagined. I loved it! Mr. Darcy realizes he cannot live without Elizabeth and he cannot bear to see her married to someone else, especially Mr. Collins, so he comes to the rescue!

Mr. Darcy travels to Longbourn in the hopes of ending Elizabeth’s engagement to Mr. Collins and gaining her affection, but of course, things are never this simple and we end up visiting Kent, Derbyshire and London as well. One of the things I loved in this book is that we visit all these places in the company of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy.

We are constantly reading about their interactions, of course there are other characters, but Elizabeth and Darcy are present in most of the book, and this is something I really enjoy. After reading so many JAFF books I confess I’m more and more interested in Elizabeth and Darcy’s interactions than the rescue of Lydia, for example. Even though I did like Lydia’s rescue in this book. I will not give any details as I don’t want to spoil it for you, but it is very funny.

The journey is lighthearted, fresh and funny. I adored reading the book from the perspective of both characters, and I loved reading their thoughts in the middle of the conversations. It made me feel closer to them, and it made the book funnier.

The Darcy in this book is romantic, decided, but with his natural flaws which just makes him perfect. Elizabeth is true to herself and we see her fall in love with Darcy in a charming way.

This is the 3rd book I’ve read from Victoria Kincaid, and once again she wrote a book that is never boring and that keeps urging us to read it without stopping. I was just sad it was so short. I would like to have read much more, for example, more Darcy scenes by himself at Netherfield, more interactions at Rosings between Elizabeth and Lady Catherine, but also between Lizzy and Darcy, more Elizabeth’s confidences to Jane in Pemberley, etc.

I consider this book quite different from the other 2 I have read from Victoria Kincaid (and that I loved!) which proves to me she is really a creative writer. She can write different types of books and provide us pleasurable moments each time. The only reason I didn’t rate this book higher is because of the length, but definitely a good book to read.

 

Mr. Darcy to the Rescue is available at :

Amazon.com – Mr. Darcy to the Rescue

Amazon.co.uk – Mr. Darcy to the Rescue: A Pride and Prejudice Variation

Amazon.fr – Mr. Darcy to the Rescue: A Pride and Prejudice Variation (English Edition)

3 Comments

Filed under Pride and Prejudice

3 responses to “Mr. Darcy to the rescue

  1. Pingback: Lovely Review on From Pemberley to Milton! | Victoria Kincaid

  2. Thank you for taking the time to review my book! I’m so happy you enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

