Earning Darcy’s Trust

earning darcy's trust4 stars

Jennifer Joy’s writing is so good that it gets me glued to her books for hours!

While I’m captivated by the premise in some books, in Jennifer’s I have to say that it is the way she develops her stories and her characters that keeps me wanting to read more and more. I’m not saying that the premises are not good in her books, by the contrary, they are quite interesting, but her writing is definitely her strongest characteristic for me. The way she writes increases the quality of her books exponentially. Earning Darcy’s Trust is the second book I read from this author, and for the second time, I go to bed after reading it wanting to write about it. That is something that does not happen with every book I read, and it has to be the merit of the author.

In this book Darcy decides to take Georgiana to Netherfield with him, and her presence will change everything! The storyline will be quite similar to the one Austen created, but Georgiana’s presence along with another new character and all the story that is behind him, will change the Darcy/Elizabeth relationship.

I liked the new Darcy/Elizabeth scenes the author created and their dialogues. Their discussions were very good, and the way they profess their love in the end of book really touched my heart. I think it is because I really identify myself with the way Jennifer Joy expressed Darcy and Elizabeth’s feelings and inner thoughts.

I particularly liked reading Elizabeth say “I am as much yours as you are mine” and Darcy confessing “she is my complement. Where I am week, she is strong”. For me these sentences are very strong and transpire a love that is transcendent. They correspond to what I believe Darcy and Elizabeth’s love is all about.

I also loved the way Jennifer gave some importance to Mr. Hurst and how she changed his character. Or should I say, how she showed us how he can be when not sleeping or inebriated?

I really liked seeing him take some action and actually speak. This is something I never saw in a JAFF book before, so it really stood out and got my attention.

The way Georgiana’s attitude evolved during the book was very interesting as well. I liked to see how Elizabeth’s influence helped her grow. We always see Mr. Darcy saying that Elizabeth’s presence will help Georgiana, but in this book we actually see it happen.

The only thing I didn’t like as much in this book is the reaction Mr. Darcy has when the true killer of his father is revealed. I would imagine him angrier, not being able to think of anything else. I would also prefer to have Darcy talk with Elizabeth about his feelings in a more private situation, but I understand the scene itself was meant to create some humour.

Overall, I really liked this Earning Darcy’s Trust, and because Jennifer’s writing was one of the things that made me like the book so much, I will leave you with 2 of my favourite sentences in this book:

“She loved a good challenge. Perhaps that was what drew her to Fitzwilliam Darcy at first. There was nothing simple about him”.

“They would fight. They would love. But most of all, they would live”.

Earning Darcy’s Trust is available at:
Amazon.com – Earning Darcy’s Trust

Amazon.co.uk – Earning Darcy’s Trust: A Pride & Prejudice Variation

Amazon.fr – Earning Darcy’s Trust: A Pride & Prejudice Variation

1 Comment

Filed under 4 stars, Pride and Prejudice

One response to “Earning Darcy’s Trust

  1. Thank you so much for your review, Rita! You’ve inspired me to continue pursuing my dream career and I hope to continue to add to your ‘to be read’ pile for years to come!

    Like

Leave a Reply

