The Trouble with Horses

the trouble with horses4 stars

I don’t usually buy Novelas, even if the premise is interesting, I always prefer to read longer books than a short story. But I had just finished Compromised by J. Dawn King, and the excerpt of The Trouble with Horses was in the end of the book, so I gave it a try.

Truth is, I really loved the excerpt and the premise! And once more I was proven wrong when it comes to “rejecting” something in JAFF! I should know by now that even if there are genres I prefer, I should not exclude anything in JAFF! The Trouble with Horses proved me I cannot deny novellas, as I may end up loving them as much as I love a longer book.

The novella starts with Elizabeth finding a lost horse that leads her to an injured Mr. Darcy in the middle of the forest and surrounded with snakes. Obviously, our heroine will scare off the snakes and get help for the unknown gentleman who is then taken to Longbourn for recovery.

You may imagine how the stories goes from here 🙂

Mary’s character was a surprise in this book. I liked how the author was able to give more importance to this character by making her the love interest of another much loved hero :).

Mary is one of those characters I always like to see developed. I think that Austen’s character was not meant to be very interesting, but I also feel there is a lot of potential in her to be developed in JAFF.

There was a detail I particularly liked in this story, and I know the Portuguese readers will like it as much as I did  🙂 The author quoted a part Sir Walter Scott’s The Vision of Don Roderick that mentions Portugal. A small detail, I know, but it always makes me smile.

I also liked the scenarios and how the story evolved. I was just sorry that this book was indeed very short and could be read in a couple of hours. I think it has all the potential to be a great longer book, and I wish the author will consider developing this book in the future by adding more scenes to it. I would enjoy reading more scenes of Elizabeth taking care of Darcy after the accident, more interactions between them in Hertfordshire, and much more story in London. I think the story is very well put together, but by extending it, the author would make it even better.

If you like short stories or novelas, I think you will love this book!

The Trouble with Horses is Available at:

Amazon.com – The Trouble with Horses

Amazon.co.uk  –The Trouble With Horses: A Pride & Prejudice Variation Novella

Amazon.fr – The Trouble With Horses: A Pride & Prejudice Variation Novella

 

2 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Trouble with Horses

  1. I am so pleased you liked that I included this chapter. I couldn’t agree more about the story. Elizabeth is a ball of fire that has been such a tremendous encouragement to me. Thanks!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Short and Sweet Reads: What Are These Novella Things In Jane Austen Fan Fiction? | From Pemberley to Milton

Leave a Reply

