Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife

mr darcy takes a wife1 star

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife was the first JAFF book I’ve read. The title caught my attention at amazon and that was the moment I discovered the wonderful world of fan fiction.

My life would forever be altered! I discovered a whole new world full of fascinating books that would give me so much joy throughout the years, I met amazing people who like these books just as much as I do, and I created this blog that keeps me busy most of the days, but also fills me with happiness and fulfilment. It gives me the opportunity to get in contact with others who like me are obsessed with Mr. Darcy and Mr. Thornton, and for that I’m incredibly grateful.

 

That is how much I owe to Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife. Unfortunately, I cannot say I liked this book and I’m glad I did not give up on JAFF after reading it. I have now come to understand that this is a very controversial book. I think there are those who love it and those who truly dislike it.

 

This book was not at all what I was expecting, especially as it was the first JAFF book I was reading, but now that I’ve read much more, I believe that there are those who might actually enjoy this book.

I explained in my first post that I’m not very fond of sequels or books that are not “clean”, meaning that I don’t enjoy books with many intimate scenes. Well, Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife is a sequel in which the first 30 or 40 pages are sex scenes between Darcy and Elizabeth.

Considering the type of Jane Austen Fan Fiction I prefer, it was obvious I would not enjoy this one very much.

 

I could not relate to the characters or the period (the plot and scenes seemed more appropriate to the 21st century) and I didn’t feel these were my Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth, so I did not enjoy the book. However I know some people like this book, so if the sex scenes are not something readers dislike, they might have a different opinion than me.

 

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife is available at:

Amazon.com – Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife

Amazon.co.uk – Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Pride & Prejudice Continues)

Amazon.fr – Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues

Leave a comment

Filed under Pride and Prejudice

Leave a Reply

