How to Mend a Broken Heart

htmabhCOVER***Book Blurb***

Three years after Mr. Darcy’s disastrous marriage proposal to Elizabeth Bennet, they meet again. Due to an unexpected twist of fate, Elizabeth finds herself a guest in the home of the Mr. Darcy’s aunt, the Dowager Lady Matlock. Long believing Elizabeth lost to him, Darcy has recently proposed marriage to an old flame, the widow of his friend. Now newly engaged Darcy encounters Elizabeth again and realizes she still owns his heart.

Although bound by honour to another, Darcy sets out to improve Elizabeth’s opinion of him. Tension mounts between Darcy and Elizabeth in that pursuit, and Darcy’s betrothed begins to see Elizabeth as a threat to her upcoming marriage. How will Darcy and Elizabeth ever reach their happily ever after?

How to Mend a Broken Heart is a non-canon variation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and is intended for mature readers.

 

***My Review***

3.5 stars

I was very excited when I read the blurb for this book, as it seemed very interesting to have Mr. Darcy engaged to someone else while forced to be in Elizabeth’s presence on almost a daily basis.

The first chapters of the book did not disappoint me. As I read what happened in the last 3 years of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth’s lives, I could not put the book down. I was truly anxious to have them meet after so much had passed. The author chose an interesting path for Elizabeth, and made us love Darcy even more with the attempts he made to find her after learning of her fate. But fate was not at odds with them, and Mr. Darcy only learns of Elizabeth’s whereabouts after getting engaged to someone else.

Usually I don’t like the idea of Mr. Darcy getting engaged to someone else, but even if I did not understand his reasons and choice of bride, in this book, we understand Mr. Darcy did everything he could to be reunited with Elizabeth, and that was very touching. Also, I loved to hate his bride 🙂

I’m sure most readers would hate any bride Mr. Darcy would choose if that brides name is not Elizabeth Bennet, but believe me when I say, this bride is the most hateful creature that could be invented, and along with Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth, as a reader, I could only think on how he would be able to break the engagement. This kept me reading until the very end, which will obviously have a HEA 🙂

This book is a romantic one, but a bit too sexual for me, and I don’t mean it had a lot of sexual scenes, because it didn’t, and the ones that existed were, in the most part,  either funny to read, or placed in an appropriate setting, but the characters motives seemed a bit too sexual for my taste.

Apart from that, I enjoyed reading it. It was incredibly well written and I liked several details the author added to the story such as the approach to Bingley’s character and the fact that he learn from his past mistakes. Lydia’s fate was also something I truly enjoyed. It was one of the most horrific I had ever read, and it only increased my pleasure at seeing Mr. Wickham’s outcome. I hope you enjoy it too 🙂

 

How to Mend a Broken Heart is available at:

Amazon.com – How to Mend a Broken Heart

Amazon.co.uk – How to Mend a Broken Heart

Amazon.fr – How to Mend a Broken Heart (English Edition)

***Blog Tour***

Are you curious about How to Mend a Broken Heart? Don’t miss the excerpts, interviews, reviews and giveaways of the blog tour!

htmabhhorizontalbanner

 

3/21: Guest Post & Giveaway at My Jane Austen Book Club

3/22: Excerpt & Giveaway at Romance Novel Giveaways

3/23: Review at Margie’s Must Reads

3/24: Excerpt & Giveaway at Best Sellers and Best Stellars

3/25: Guest Post & Giveaway at Skipping Midnight

3/26: Review at From Milton to Pemberley

3/26: Excerpt & Giveaway at Liz’s Reading Life

3/27: Guest Post & Giveaway at Babblings of A Bookworm

3/28: Excerpt & Giveaway at More Agreeably Engaged

3/29: Review at Half Agony, Half Hope

3/30: Review at Just Jane 1813

3/31: Guest Post & Giveaway at So Little Time…

4/1: Guest Post & Giveaway at Austenesque Reviews

4/1: Review at Tomorrow is Another Day

4/2: Review at My Kids Led Me Back to Pride and Prejudice

4/3: Excerpt & Giveaway at Jennifer Vido

4/4: Review at Diary of an Eccentric

19 Comments

Filed under Pride and Prejudice

19 responses to “How to Mend a Broken Heart

  1. Mary

    I like the premise of this book!!
    Darcy engaged to another, bound by his word to another but still in love with Elizabeth. How is Darcy going to get himself out of this particular mix?!!
    Yip,definitely another book uk be added to my TBR list.
    Lovely review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t say how he’s going to get rid of this situation because that would spoil all the fun for you Mary, but I can say she had that coming 🙂 And the scene when it happens is very funny 🙂

    Like

  3. L.S. (Lee) Parsons

    Thank you for the lovely review and sharing your insight in How to Mend a Broken Heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. L.S. (Lee) Parsons

    Thank you for the lovely review and for allowing your readers a glimpse at How to Mend a Broken Heart. It is much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophia Rose

    Yep, this shapes up to be a riveting one with him finding her just after he entangled himself with another woman. I’m curious how he gets out of it, too. Nice review, Rita!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful review, Rita!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. BeckyC

    Wonderful review. I am definitely intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Glynis

    What a great review Rita. I must put this on my wish list. I hate that Darcy is engaged to someone else but as you have assured me it all comes right in the end I think I will enjoy reading it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I wonder what wiles Darcy’s betrothed will try and use to keep him

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m just so curious to find out how Darcy gets himself out of this fix. Definitely one for the Wish List.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Who are some of your favorite authors that you feel were influential in your work? What impact have they had on your writing?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. My favorite authors would be Diana Galbaldon and J.D. Robb (Nora Roberts). I love the Eve Dallas series. Of Jane Austen. While I have many authors who I admire in the JA world, Abigail Reynolds and Jan Hahn come to mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

