Darcy vs. Bennet – Review

Hello dear readers,

I never cared much about Valentine’s Day, and honestly I never do anything special this day. I think that we should show affection towards others, and get out and enjoy the company of someone else whenever we want, and not on a given day that society dictates, so I didn’t prepare anything special for the blog either. But I do have a review that I would like to share with you, and if you feel the same way I do, maybe this book will be your company for Valentine’s Day.

515w3lingcl__sy346_4.5 stars

When Darcy vs. Bennet came out last year, everyone was talking about it, and I heard that it was a love at first sight story. I’m usually not very fond of the love at first sight premise, for the simple reason that I don’t believe in it, so I was a little put out because I love Victoria Kincaid’s books and I was eager to read this one. But it was a Victoria Kincaid book nonetheless, so I had to read it! I filled myself with courage and gave it a go. Guess what? I should have read it the first time I got a chance because it was absolutely wonderful!!!

In Darcy vs. Bennet Mr. Darcy meets Elizabeth Bennet at a masquerade ball, and even if they feel drawn to each other almost immediately, they do have a chance to dance, talk and get to know each other a little better. It is also in this masquerade ball that Elizabeth proves to be a trustworthy friend in the eyes of Mr. Darcy, by saving Georgiana from eloping with Mr. Wickham. But when she hears Mr. Darcy’s family name, she understands a relationship between them can never occur due to their parents’ feud and flees the party.

Mr. Darcy cannot forget the only woman who had thus far captured his attention and searches everywhere for Elizabeth, but knowing only her given name is endeavor is unsuccessful. Two years later, when he travels to Netherfield with Mr. Bingley, he reunites with Elizabeth and from the moment they recognize each other we are faced with a turbulent but poignant love story!

In this book Mr. Darcy senior is still alive and he is the true villain of the story, he is a despicable man and I loved to hate him in Darcy vs. Bennet. In fact, I believe he became my favorite villain in a JAFF story because it was due to his unrelenting demands that Mr. Darcy takes one of the bravest decisions he was ever asked to make on behalf of his love for Elizabeth.

I loved how strong and unbinding Darcy and Elizabeth’s love was in this book, and how far Mr. Darcy would go to be with her; how she made him a humbler man in a completely different way than we are used to see and how they suffered for their love. If I go straight to the point, I just LOVED this book!

In Darcy vs. Bennet I could feel once more the type of love Mrs. Kincaid developed in The Secrets of Darcy and Elizabeth: intense, secretive, intimate, insecure and resolute at the same time.

It is a fast paced book that captured my heart from page one until the end. I’ve read many of Victoria Kincaid’s books, if not all, and I know she is a diversified author. Among her works, one can either find a humorous and light book or a gripping romance that will touch our souls. Darcy vs Bennet is amongst the second category. It is an epic romance that I recommend to everyone.

You can find this book at:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

 

 

11 Comments

Filed under JAFF

11 responses to “Darcy vs. Bennet – Review

  1. Thanks for a lovely review of a really great book, Rita. This is one of my favourites of Victoria’s books. I’ve read all of them and simply love the variety in her writing. From the high farce of Chaos Comes to Longbourn to the drama of this one, and everything inbetween. Like you, I really loathed Darcy Senior. Sometimes, it’s so satisfying to have a totally nasty villain to hate!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s precisely it Anji, I love to hate villains! It means they are really good, as villains of course 😉
      I went back to check and I’ve also read all of Victoria’s books and the diversity is really impressive. She even has minor characters books (When Mary Met the Colonel is still one of my favourite minor character books ever!), and seasonal ones (her last was also a favourite). I wonder what she will release next 🙂

      Like

  2. Sophia Rose

    I loved this one, too. I thought it was creative and heartwarming. Nice review, Rita!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glynis

    I’m glad you finally got round to reading this Rita. I bought it last year and loved it. I actually love books where Darcy and Elizabeth are together or in love early on so this was perfect. I was surprised that the villain was Darcy’s father and that he was so evil. Luckily love finds a way (obviously this is not a spoiler 😃) great review Rita

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Glynis: )
      I liked so many things in this story, and one of them was the “I love you but I cannot be with you”. It was so lovely to see them in love during a good length of the book :))

      Like

  4. Carole in Canada

    Lovely review, Rita! I have this one on my wishlist still to buy but it will happen this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mary

    Hi Rita,

    Great review!!! I’ve read this book and agree that Mr Darcy Senior was indeed,a horrible,disgruntled and highly disagreeable man!!
    Loved the huge sacrifice that our beloved Mr D was willing to make, all for the sake of a lifetime of happiness with Elizabeth!!! What a man!!!
    Love Victoria’s stories! She has a lovely way with words!

    Like

  6. victoriakincaid

    Hi Rita, What a lovely Valentine’s Day surprise! Thank you for the review — and for the nice things you said about the variety in my writing. 🙂

    Like

  7. Great review! I loved this book, and I’m a huge fan of Victoria’s writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

