Courage Requires Review & Giveaway

Hello everyone,

Last year when I read Melanie Rachel’s debut book Courage Rises I was very surprised with how much I loved it! Sequel’s are not my favourite type of book, but this one really made me want to read more and more. In fact, one of the things I mentioned in my review was that I needed to read more about Miss Sophia Hawkes and to learn more about her future.

In Courage Requires Melanie Rachel answered my prayers as Sophia Hawkes is one of the central characters who will not only have an interesting story of her own, but also play an important role in the lives of Elizabeth, Georgiana and even Pembroke Fitzwilliam. We will finally learn more about this enigmatic character, understand her struggles and insecurities and accompany her much deserved romantic story.

Courage Requires is a character driven book. It focuses mainly on human interactions and how life and the experiences people have lived may shape their personalities and their responses to situations and others. It shows us how different people may be from each other, why they are the way they are, and how we may misinterpret others based on our own experiences. It also reveals how an insignificant sentence or attitude may have unthinkable consequences, and how people must face the consequences of their actions, even if they didn’t mean any harm by them.

The book doesn’t have as much action as the first volume, but it didn’t signify to me because I absolutely loved to read something more centered in character development. Despite being a regency book, it approaches many subjects in terms of human nature that we still see nowadays and I particularly enjoyed that.

Courage Requires is the perfect ending for Courage Rises, it’s more mature, calm and it gives us the much anticipated closure.

 

You can find Courage Rises and Courage Requires available on Amazon.com.

Courage Rises

Courage Requires

 

 

Melanie Rachel would like to offer an e-book copy of Courage Rises or Courage Requires to one of my readers (winners choice). The giveaway is international and all you have to do is comment this post and share with us your thoughts on this story. To double your chances of winning comment the review of Courage Rises as well 🙂

The giveaway is open until the 14th of May and the winner will be announced shortly after that.

Good luck everyone!

15 Comments

Filed under JAFF

15 responses to “Courage Requires Review & Giveaway

  1. Glynis

    I haven’t read either of these books but will check them out as I do enjoy books where Darcy and Elizabeth are married. I would love to win a copy of either book so thanks for the opportunity.

    Like

  2. I look forward to reading both these books as I seem to prefer books which are not Darcy/Elizabeth orientated

    Like

  3. Leah Pruett

    I haven’t read either of these!! Hope to soon!

    Like

  4. Sally Cline

    Can”t wait to read Them!

    Like

  5. Thanks for reading the review and good luck, everyone!

    Like

  6. J. W. Garrett

    I have the first book and was waiting for the second so I could read them together. Good luck to everyone!! Blessings to Melanie on her book launch and much success. Thanks for the give-a-way, that was very generous. Thanks to Rita for hosting this post. Have a great rest of the week. JWG

    Like

  7. Pam Hunter

    Great review! I haven’t read either of the “Courage” books yet, but they’ve been on my wish list since they were released. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

    Like

  8. Carole in Canada

    Wonderful review Rita! I love both books! You hit the the nail on the head when you said: “It focuses mainly on human interactions and how life and the experiences people have lived may shape their personalities and their responses to situations and others.”

    Like

  9. I love character driven stories. Can’t wait to read!

    Like

  10. KateB

    Great post Rita. 💖 I love character driven books as well. Sequels fit in this category perfectly. I don’t mind evil scheming as part of the plot, but development of the characters is more important than acty.
    Thanks for the giveaway. 🌹

    Like

  11. Kim P.

    I haven’t read these books yet either, in fact this author us new to me so I’m happy to read your thoughts. I usually shy away from sequels as well but these new characters sound intriguing. Thank you for the giveaway.

    Like

  12. evamedmonds

    I have not read either book but they sound like a great story. I would love to read Courage Rise and then would purchase Courage Requires. Thank you for the great review and giveaway. I am excited to have two books on my to be read list.

    Like

  13. Mary

    ‘People must face the consequences of their actions,even if they didn’t mean any harm by them’. Gosh,Rita,this certainly sounds intriguing!!!
    Haven’t read any book by this author yet,boy I hope to remedy that soon.
    Glad you enjoyed this one so much!!! ☺️

    Like

  14. It sounds like my kind of story & I’d love to have the chance to read it.

    Like

  15. Sorry for being late to the party. I have only heard of this P&P sequel and the author recently because I was away from JAFF world for some time. It sounds like my kind of book from the review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

