Old Friends and New Fancies by Sybil Brinton

old friends4 stars

Old Friends and New Fancies is the first Jane Austen fan fiction book to have ever been written, being originally published in 1913, so I was incredibly excited to read it.

In this book, the author creates a whole new story of romantic entanglements using a cast of characters from all of Austen’s major novels, with Kitty Bennet, Georgiana Darcy and Mary Crawford taking the lead roles in what can only be described as a mash up sequel.

I enjoyed how so many Austen characters from so many different novels were combined in one single book, how they interacted with each other, how their relationships were developed and all the while maintaining their original personalities. The author cleverly entangles minor and major characters’ lives with each other and that was the highlight of this book for me as I kept thinking who would show up next, whom would that character be connected with, how their personality would interfere with the narrative, etc. The only exception was Mary Crawford who becomes the love interest of Colonel Fitzwilliam and seemed a bit out of character, but once I overcame my displeasure over her original character, I started enjoying her new romance.

Although I loved the entire story line and the progress of the narrative from Bath to London and Pemberley, I did find the ending somewhat abrupt, especially Georgiana’s storyline, even though I could see the outcome coming for a long time, I would have enjoyed if that had been further developed.

Overall, I enjoyed spending time with so many Austen’s characters in a single book and I am extremely grateful for this author’s pioneering work way before Jane Austen fan fiction became popular. I believe that everyone who loves Jane Austen’s works will enjoy this book and I highly recommend it, if for nothing else, for it’s historical relevance.

You can find Old Friends and New Fancies at:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

and Audible


 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Old Friends and New Fancies by Sybil Brinton

  1. Great review, Rita! I felt the same way about this book. It was one of the first JAFF stories I ever read. I bought it in an antique shop in southern Arizona about two decades ago and was intrigued. What a journey I’ve been on through JAFF since then! ☺️

    Like

  2. Glory

    And one that can be used for the BINGO too!

    Like

  3. glyniswhitelegg

    I read this for my bingo card. I did struggle with it but only because it was only in paperback form on U.K. and the lines weren’t spaced out making it very difficult to read. Saying that I did enjoy all the characters and their stories. I was happy that Colonel Fitzwilliam got his happy ending.

    Like

  4. Sophia Rose

    I had a great time with this one, too.

    Like

  5. Thank you Rita for your review!

    I heard about this book first in your BINGO and now, reading your post, I know I will give it a try because it seems really entertaining and a homage to all Jane Austen´s works 😉

    And it´s perfect for “Released last century” BINGO !

    ¡Un abrazo muy fuerte!

    Teresa

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.