Find You in Paris by Alix Nichols

find you in paris4 stars

The characters from Pride and Prejudice are brought to modern-day Paris in this book, where Diane Petit has vowed to exact revenge on Sebastian Darcy, the aristocratic fragrance magnate who decimated her father’s small business.

Against all odds, Darcy sees in Diane an opportunity to discover who has been trying to hurt his family, so he proposes her a marriage of convenience that will help him in his quest. Reluctantly, she accepts because she sees this as a chance to gather information that will enable her to strike back, and what started as a marriage of convenience between two people who dislike each other, grows into something very different as low-class Diane starts falling for billionaire Darcy.

In this modernization Mr. Darcy is French and I absolutely loved that change because the author was able to easily transport the character’s characteristics and life changing events into this new setting. Sebastian Darcy is in fact Count Sebastian d’Arcy du Grand-Thouars de Saint-Maurice, a young man who, after his father’s demise, had to take over the family’s perfume business at a very young age. He is proud, aloof, honest, and against his better judgement starts falling in love with Diane Petit, a supermarket cashier who happens to hate him.

I loved the setting, and I could picture myself in Paris with these characters. I also loved the authors writing style, which was casual, fluid and seemed American at times, but I also loved the Eurovision song contest scene which felt incredibly familiar to me as European. I believe the author was able to bring the best of two worlds into her writing which I believe will appeal to a wider variety of readers.

Although the plot moves quickly and never has a dull moment, a detail I truly appreciated, the romance felt underdeveloped and was primarily driven by lust. I believe the story would gain if the author took more time developing more loving scenes between the two main characters that would bring them closer to one another. Additionally, I would have preferred more development in the book’s final moments because the ending was very abrupt and the unforeseen events that took place justified a few more chapters.

Find You in Paris is an interesting, innovative and different take of Pride & Prejudice in modern times that presents very little angst in an enemies to lovers premise. Although I wasn’t particularly fond of the main characters, that were unable to engage me in their feelings, and the story could have been more developed, the setting and the premise are very enthralling, and I believe readers who enjoy modern takes on these characters will enjoy the book.

You can find Find You in Paris at:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

Kindle Unlimited and Audible


 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Find You in Paris by Alix Nichols

  1. Sophia Rose

    I’ve got this on my Kindle and just need to slip it into my reading pile. Glad to get your thoughts on it, Rita.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.