The Price of Pride by Abigail Reynolds

Abigail Reynolds did it again! The Price of Pride has become one of my all-time favorite books and I know that everything I read after this book will lack in comparison.

This story begins during Elizabeth’s tour in Derbyshire, but instead of meeting Mr. Darcy at Pemberley, she meets Mr. Andrew Darcy at a village nearby. She tries to keep her distance from him because he may be a relation to Mr. Darcy, but Wickham devises a compromising situation and she is forced to accept Mr. Andrew Darcy’s hand in marriage. As if that was not enough, she soon realizes he is actually Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy’s younger brother, and is required to spend a lot of time in the Darcy’s company.

It is hard to point out what I loved the most about this book because in reality, I loved everything about it, but I will try my best to explain why this book conquered my heart.

Let’s start with the angst. I absolutely love angsty books because I believe they bring out intense feelings into the plot, and I cannot imagine anything more angsty than having ODC loving each other, and spending time in each other’s company, knowing they will never be together. This is precisely what happens in this book. Not only Mr. Darcy loves Elizabeth at this point, but she also realizes he is the only man she could ever love. They spend a lot of time in each other’s company, and realize they have even more in common then what they initially  thought. Their interactions are intense and electrifying and I craved for more every time I saw them sharing page time. Not only their love for each other is strong and intense, but also Abigail Reynolds writing style allows the reader to feel it in his heart, making this an extremely addictive book. I simply could not stop reading it!

The love story is also bumpy and unexpected despite the constancy of the characters feelings. When one believes they may finally have their happily ever after, something else happens that puts the reader over the edge of his seat. Again, this was perfect because once more we are shown how devoted ODC are to one another and how strong their feelings are. When the reader thinks he already had his share of intense and beautiful moments between Elizabeth and Darcy, Abigail Reynolds takes a new sub plot under her sleeve and presents us with more unexpected, yet lovely moments.

I also loved Mr. Darcy’s jealousy and devotion towards Elizabeth and his brother. He is a man divided between the love he feels towards the woman of his life and the need to reconcile with his family. The balance between these two was perfect and I loved Mr. Darcy’s relationship with his brother almost as much his relationship with Elizabeth. In fact, the family dynamics this book approaches was another aspect that made me love it. From the Darcy’s brotherly relationship, to Mr. Hadley’s relationship with his son and the acceptance of Anne Darcy’s behavior by her children, everything was perfect.

As mentioned before, not only Abigail Reynolds writing style kept me engaged with the story, but also touched my heart and made me cry. I don’t usually cry in books, but I did cry when I was told Mr. Hadley’s life story. I am glad all characters got their happy ending because they certainly deserved it.

Summing up, The Price of Pride is one of the most beautiful love stories I’ve ever read with intense and electrifying scenes between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth. They have a long road to go through to find their happy ending, but the journey is just as incredible as the destination. This is certainly one book I will never forget. The angst, Darcy’s jealousy, Elizabeth and Darcy’s relationship, the family dynamics, the secondary love stories, the passion for adventure, and the writing style were the components that made The Price of Pride one of my all-time favorite books. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves intense romances full of adventure and family devotion. If I could give this one 10 stars, I would. This book is PERFECT!

.

Elizabeth Bennet’s Level

Because The Price of Pride was so addictive, I could not let go of the story, so when I couldn’t read (meals still need to be cooked), I continued to follow the story with the audiobook, which was very interesting because for the first time I listened to some chapters and read others, making this a very interesting reading experience. I have also tried for the first time Authors Direct,  a new platform to listen to audiobooks, and I have to say I loved it. The experience was very good and it is by no means worse than audible, on the contrary, the screen is even more appealing to me.

But I bet you want to know about Elizabeth Klett’s narration, right? Well, as always it was perfect! She has demonstrated once more how she is such a great articulator and did a great job with the pacing and differentiation of characters. It was very pleasant to hear her narration, and I recommend getting an audio copy of this book 🙂

 

You can find The Price of Pride at:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

and the audiobook is available at many vendors, namely on Apple Books

16 Comments

Filed under JAFF

16 responses to “The Price of Pride by Abigail Reynolds

  1. sheilalmajczan

    I love angst so I will have to check this book out. I have read all of Abigail’s variations on P&P…except this one. Thanks for sharing here.

    Like

  2. shelby6666

    Thanks for this wonderful review! I am going to move this up on my TRP!

    Like

  3. Great review, Rita! It’s so so angsty, in a good way!

    Like

  4. Glynis

    I love all Abigail’s books but have yet to read this one. You know I struggle with angst anyway Rita but at the moment I’m unable to cope with a book that made you cry! Hopefully fingers crossed I’ll feel better soon and I’ll definitely be reading it then.

    Like

  5. maryvad

    Hi Rita,
    I’m so glad you loved this book so much.
    It does sound like a fantastic,angst filled read and I can well imagine
    how uncomfortable Darcy and Lizzy must have been with each other
    when they realised they loved but all was lost….or almost so.
    Looking forward to seeing for myself how each character gets their HEA.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
    Stay safe. 🍀

    Like

  6. Kim P.

    Great review! I’ve read and loved many of her books. I’ll definitely be adding this to my TBR list.

    Like

  7. sounds like an interesting variation

    d

    Like

  8. Carla

    Thanks Rita for another great review. You have this hability to increase my TBR all the time! Can’t wait to read Abigail Reynolds’ latest adventure in JAFF world!

    Like

  9. Sophia Rose

    Glad to see your high praise for Abigail’s latest. I’m looking forward to it.

    Like

  10. J. W. Garrett

    Beautiful review, Rita. Whew! I also love angst. I can’t wait to read it. I followed the posting of a few sample chapters and man, I was hooked. Blessings, stay safe, and healthy.

    Like

  11. “The Price of Pride is one of the most beautiful love stories I’ve ever read with intense and electrifying scenes between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth.”

    That remark sent chills. Wow, what praise!

    Thanks for the thoughtful review, Rita. Reynolds continues to amaze us. She is the Queen of Pride and Prejudice variations!

    Best, LA

    Like

  12. suzanlauder

    Because I love Abigail’s books, this has been on my TBR list as soon as I knew it existed. But because I’m an angst lover, this review made me doubly determined to read it soon. Obrigada, Rita. Congratulations, Abigail!

    Like

  13. Rita, I’m still completely speechless over this review, and utterly humbled by your words. I’m so touched that you loved my book so much! I think you know I struggled with this one a lot. I’m especially grateful that you understood so well the underlying theme of the conflict between Darcy’s duty to his family and his love for Elizabeth. Thank you so much!

    Like

  14. caroleincanada

    Fabulous review, Rita! I have the paperback and will soon be reading it! Abigail certainly weaves wonderful and compelling novels!

    Like

  15. Pingback: What I'm writing - old and new! | Jane Austen Variations

  16. Pingback: From Pemberley to Milton’s 2021 Favorite Books | From Pemberley to Milton

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.