The Most Interesting Man in the World by Jan Ashton & Justine Rivard

The Most Interesting Man in the World is the type of book I would normally disregard, but I was in the mood for something short and entertaining, so I decided to go for it, and it just blew my mind!

I never thought I would love this book so much, but it is definitely unforgettable and a story I recommend to everyone, even to those who like me, have no great affection for Mr. Bingley.

This novella is entirely told from Mr. Bingley’s POV, and not only is the reader privy to Mr. Bingley’s version of events in Pride and Prejudice, but also to every single thought that goes through Bingley’s mind, and I grant you, there is nothing more entertaining than that. 

The reader is inside Bingley’s brain the entire time, and his brain is the messier yet funnier place there is. He cannot focus on one single subject for too long and is often too entrapped in his own thoughts to understand what is going on around him, that makes him goofy but sweet and funny. We realise why Jane is so appealing to him, and that as expected there isn’t one mean bone in his body, even if he detests his sisters company, but then again, who doesn’t, right?

You’ve probably realized this by now, but this isn’t a romance at all, it is more like a bromance. Mr. Bingley worships Mr. Darcy who is, in his eyes, the most interesting, intelligent and perfect man in the world. Bingley’s fascination is incredibly funny and I laughed out loud more times than I can count with everything that was going on in his mind, especially when he started thinking about Darcy’s ability to speak greek.

The Most Interesting Man in the World is an incredibly diverting and well written novella that will entertain all readers who love Pride and Prejudice. Because it only tells events where Mr. Bingley is present, the reader must have some knowledge of the story, but those familiar with Austen’s masterpiece will go on an unforgettable ride with this book. I highly recommend it! it is too funny to be missed 🙂 Seriously, too funny to be missed!

 

Audiobook Narration:

Elizabeth Bennet’s Level

I listened to this audiobook in one single day because once I started listening to it, I could not stop. I had to leave everything I was doing to continue listening to this story, and that was because the book is incredibly entertaining, but also because David Pickering’s narration is simply perfect! I believe the audiobook may be the best way to get into this story. Forget about the paperback or the ebook, this story deserves to be brought to you by a male narrator as talented as David Pickering who completely understood the tone the authors wanted it to have. Highly recommend this audiobook.

You can find The Most Interesting Man in the World at:

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

and on Audible.com

 

19 Comments

Filed under JAFF

19 responses to “The Most Interesting Man in the World by Jan Ashton & Justine Rivard

  1. Sophia Rose

    Always good times when a book you never saw coming absolutely delights you. Guess I’ve been missing out, too. I’ll have to hunt it down. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amy D'Orazio Author

    Many thanks Rita!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jan Ashton

    Oh Rita, I’m so glad you enjoyed hearing Bingley’s deep and important thoughts on love and puppies and food and Darcy and Jane and his dreadful sisters. David did a perfect job capturing Bingley and the comic tone, and I was lucky to snag him to narrate Mendacity & Mourning as well. Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This was such a fun story to listen to Jan! And I agree, David did a wonderful job narrating it, it was perfect! Mendacity & Mourning is on my list too, but it will be the paperback version 🙂

      Like

  4. Gail W

    “Seriously, too funny to be missed” is spot on for this hilarious story!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Did you read it a long time ago Gail? It took me a while to get to it, but I don’t regret it because I think the audio version is a MUST 🙂

      Like

      • Glynis

        I posted my review in April 2019 so over a year Rita! It is a lot easier to read books when you are retired (wink, wink)

        Like

      • I believe you Glynis, that’s one of the reasons why I dream about retirement on a daily basis! Unfortunately that will only happen 30 years or so from now :((

        Like

  5. sheilalmajczan

    I read and enjoyed this book.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glynis

    I’m glad you’ve finally enjoyed this great book Rita. I read it ages ago and like you found that living in Bingley’s brain is too funny 😂.
    I must admit that like him I do admire everything about Darcy (but I really don’t get his tolerance for his sisters and their rudeness!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a blast inside his brain Glynis! (that sounds a little weird, but it’s totally true :))
      And he had some tolerance towards the sisters, but he did dislike them a lot! That was fun to read to 🙂 Mr. hurst was also a good addition in this book 🙂

      Like

  7. alexandrariverstories

    That sounds so much fun, Rita–thank you for the review!
    As a Greek I definitely have to find out Bingley’s thoughts about Darcy speaking Greek. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, don’t get your hopes too high Alexandra, he doesn’t actually speaks Greek, it’s just that Bingley doesn’t understand what Darcy is saying most of the times, so he kind of thinks he is speaking Greek because he thinks only a very inteligent person speaks Greek 🙂 It is very funny, he thinks Darcy speaks Greek with Elizabeth for example.

      Like

  8. Thanks for sharing your terrific review, Rita! I forgot it was a Mr. Bingley POV – sounds like it was very well done! I am so glad to hear you found it diverting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would be curious to know your opinion if you read it Meredith, this is definitely a Bingley POV, but I’m not sure if people who love Bingley will appreciate it. I certainly did, I loved it! But I am very curious to know the opinion of someone who really loves the original Bingley 🙂

      Like

  9. Pingback: Book Sale Time | From Pemberley to Milton

  10. Pingback: From Pemberley to Milton’s 2020 Favorite Books | From Pemberley to Milton

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.